Carb and shift prob

jacklegmech

Cadet
Hello techs, I need some training. I have a 1995 5.7 mercruiser with remanufactured basic edelbrock 4bbl. I installed it and it didn't run good initially (at home with the water hose). I adjusted it until it idled at 650 rpms and was running smoothly. I have no real carburetor experience but some mechanical inclination. I adjusted the fuel/ idle mixture screws and the idle speed adjustment until I was satisfied that the idle was right and it shifted from forward to rev smoothly. This was all in the yard. I put it in the water under load and everything started off good (Idled great shifted great). Got underway and after about 10 minutes of running in the 2000 to 3000 rpm range I stopped to test everything. Going through neutral to reverse and visa versa became a problem. It was hard to shift and when it did it was a hard clunk. It would sometimes jump neutral and straight into reverse so I decided to bring it in. On my way in while cruising at 2500 rpms it started fluttering and the rpms would fluctuate back and forth down about 300 to 500 rpms. To avoid any further problem I brought it down to about 15-1800 rpms and cruised on in. It still performed slightly funky but not as bad. When I got back to the ramp it still would not shift into neutral. When I got home I checked the basic things and saw no obvious problems such as trash in carb or filters. I think I need a lesson on basic carburetor adjustment and it would be highly appreciated if someone with some patience would send me some guidance. I don't want to continue and make it worst on my own. Today is July 3rd and between the holiday visitors and my crazy work schedule I don't see getting back to the water again for about a week but I will make time to make the adjustments. It needs to tach correctly, shift right and run smooth. Thank you anyone who has the patience to assist me with my problem. I have almost all new and remanufactured parts on this engine and trying to g