Y Pipe does not fit-- Why ?

cadeco

Cadet
Hi guys!
I'm a newbie on the forum and on the boating lifestyle, and already have a question.
I bought a Bayliner Trophy and it did come w/ a Alpha One Gen. 2 gimbal and drive ( no motor), so I bought a motor w/ a gimbal (including the Y pipe ) and a drive( Gen. 1) I removed that was on the boat since the drive was shot and did install the Gen. 1 gimbal. Everything went well till I tried to install the Y Pipe. It hits the steering actuator ( kept from the Gen.2 ) and does not go in. Question: What can I do about it? Should I get a different Y pipe( the one I tried was part of the package) with a longer part ( where the bolts go) or try to get a different actuator in order to get clearance? and if so, What's the part #.-- Please help !!!!!

Last edited:

alldodge

Staff member
Re: Y Pipe does not fit-- Why ?

Welcome to the forum

We could use some more info to assist. What is the engine and outdrive serial numbers you are trying to install? What is the serial number and year of the drive you are not using?

Bondo

Staff member

Hi guys!
I'm a newbie on the forum and on the boating lifestyle, and already have a question.
I bought a Bayliner Trophy and it did come w/ a Alpha One Gen. 2 gimbal and drive ( no motor), so I bought a motor w/ a gimbal (including the Y pipe ) and a drive( Gen. 1) I removed that was on the boat since the drive was shot and did install the Gen. 1 gimbal. Everything went well till I tried to install the Y Pipe. It hits the steering actuator ( kept from the Gen.2 ) and does not go in. Question: What can I do about it? Should I get a different Y pipe( the one I tried was part of the package) with a longer part ( where the bolts go) or try to get a different actuator in order to get clearance? and if so, What's the part #.-- Please help !!!!!

Ayuh,.... Merc has used Several different Y-pipes,... Donno which or what yer workin' on,...

What was included with the rest of this re-power package,..??