making me a boat......

phatmanmike

Captain
helllllloooooo<br /><br />i just pruchased these plans from WWW.Boatplans.DK<br /><br /> http://www.boatplans.dk/mo-15.asp <br /><br />it looks like a "gheenoe"<br /><br />i was actually looking for canoe plans, wanting to make one big enough for me, wife, and kids or gear, etc...<br /><br />then i found this one. its made the stitch and glue method. i have never done a boat from scratch before, but i have done my time in the camp of fiberglass and wood repairs.<br /><br />BUT.... all the plans call for EPOXY resins. i have heeps of poly resins here at home, and have always had good luck with poly. is there any real reason i couldnt use poly on this one too?????<br /><br />any ideas and thoughts are appreciated.<br /><br />thakns mike

rogerwa

Commander
Re: making me a boat......

I built a S&G canoe this fall.. I am still not finished as I have all the fairing and aesthetic stuff to do, but structually I am done. If interested here are some pics..<br /><br /> http://forums.bateau2.com/gallery/index.php?cat=12442 <br /><br />I don't think you want to use poly. I don't know the reason, all I know is I read it was a no-no.<br /><br />What plywood do you plan to use. That was the hardest thing for me. Since this was the first I just used 1/4" birch plywood at $9/sheet. The next time I will definitely go for the marine ply since I proved to myself that I could actually fashion a hull.<br /><br />Good luck and post pics along the way. Let me know if you have any question.. I may be able to help with my limited knowledge.

Winger Ed.

Chief Petty Officer

Cool looking boat. I'd guess it'll be a lot more stable than a canoe.<br /><br />The entire industry & all the hobbyists talk about using the epoxy resin rather than polyester for what you're doing. Its just better, and doesn't try to delaminate/peel off like polyester can and often does.

Laddies

Banned