Playcraft Deckboat - floor and foam redo

kleabo

Recruit
Hi all Newbie here.
Please don't bash me for my questions. I am a single female with a big project. I have been trying to educate myself on here and boy I have learned a lot.
Just want to show you my project and get any input.

I have included some pictures and one with some questions.

1. When I tore apart the boat the center area was filled with water. The carpet was just on plywood no fiberglass in the center part at all so I believe that was the issue. After I cleaned it out I noticed that there was not a hole of any sort for water to get out. I am assuming this was meant to be watertight and plan on making it that way.. as best as I can. Would this be a correct assumption?

2. There was a sub-floor with nothing under it. Then between that and the deck was poured in foam. Do you think it would be okay to use the pink sheets here?

3. The poured in foam in this area all along both sides of the boat seem dry and intact. Think I should leave alone?

4. The fiber glassed wood along the sides is good... few rot spots were removed. I plan on making supports and then fiber glassing ext 1/2 plywood (2 layers on top and and one on bottom) and just joining up to what is there. Would this be okay to do.

Thanks again for all the knowledge and help - Kim

Attachments

• 20130521_121608.jpg
    20130521_121608.jpg
    72.7 KB · Views: 0
  • 20130521_182425.jpg
    20130521_182425.jpg
    79.1 KB · Views: 0
  • 20130525_143025.jpg
    20130525_143025.jpg
    143.6 KB · Views: 0
  • 20130525_143043.jpg
    20130525_143043.jpg
    117 KB · Views: 0
  • boat.jpg
    boat.jpg
    75 KB · Views: 0

jbcurt00

Staff member
Re: Playcraft Deckboat - floor and foam redo

Decker is currently working on a deck boat, so he may be a great resource:
1983 Deck Boat Transom/deck/stringer replacement Help

His tear down:
attachment.php

But some of the stuff in this pix makes me think that it's been torn into previously:
attachment.php