Spun prop hub - replacement advice?

Andy82

Cadet
Hey, I'm pretty sure I have a spun prop hub. I just bought the boat, and the prop is pretty dinged up, so I figure I should go ahead and replace it and be sure everything is working right. I'm running an 1988 OMC 4.3L with OMC Cobra. I've spent several hours trying to answer the questions below, but I'm very new to boating and it's a bit daunting. I figured it'd be best to ask for some expert advice.

I have several questions:
  • Could anybody please advise me on which prop and hub kit I should consider? Currently I'm thinking Aluminum to try to keep the cost a little lower.
  • I read that there are some props that allow the hub to be exchanged more easily in case of failure. Is this a good way to go?
  • What pitch/diameter should I be looking at?

My other threads regarding the boat are here and here.

coolbri70

Lieutenant Commander
Re: Spun prop hub - replacement advice?

i would start with the size prop you have as its hard to make adjustments if you dont know the starting point. aluminum is cheaper and hopefully would sacrifice itself before outdrive destruction occurs, stainless steel props are more durable and perform a little better. prop diameter you want as large as you can fit without hitting the cavitation plate, prop pitch should be whatever it takes to get the rpms into the operating range at wot, thats wide open throttle, also the hub can be replaced on the removable ones

jestor68

Commander

Remove the prop and determine it's size(diameter X pitch). The size should be stamped somewhere on the prop's hub(front or back).

Given your boat's weight(4400 lbs); with a 4.3L I would expect something like a 17 or 18 pitch, depending upon the drive's gear ratio.

I'm thinking something like a 15.5 X 17 should work. A Solas Amita(aluminum) would be cost effective.

A on the water test will be required to make sure the engine turns up to the recommended(4400-4800) rpm range.

Cptkid570

Ensign