Preseason decarbon

cityjack

Seaman
Evening all,

I am new to outboards but not 2 stroke engines. I just purchased a 19ft boat with a 1993 175HP Johnson Fast Strike. Before purchase I checked all 6 cylinders and had a compression average of 120 psi. No cylinder was off by more than 5 to 7 psi. The boat/motor had not run in about a 6 month period I was told. Upon inspection of the plugs while checking the compression, they were all a bit wet and darker than I would say they should have been. All of my 2 stroke experience has been strictly motocross bikes that we run at 40:1 with Amsoil Dominator oil. All of my plugs are a light brown in my bikes and always dry. These like I said were dark and wet. Not sooty black either. This engine is oil injected and I do not know what kind of oil the previous owner was using and when asked he wasn't sure. Something from WalMart he said.

When we started the motor it started right up but stalled a couple times till it stayed running. When it did stay running it idled a bit rough but not bad. When put in gear and we backed away from the dock it stalled a couple times again. The the third time it stayed running and ran ok while in reverse. Then once we put it in forward it stayed running and never stalled again. I am assuming it was just warming up and getting the cob webs out after sitting 6 months. When we started to get going the engine ran smooth. I had my hand on the cowl the whole time trying to feel for roughness. It basically ran great getting up to speed at at full throttle as well. I made him come to a stop in the middle of the lake just to see how it idled then. It idled fine and smooth. Then asked to throttle down from a stop to simulate pulling a skier out of the hole. No problem at all.