Help with a new prop for Mercruiser 5.0

khall

Recruit
Hi, my wife shredded my prop so I need a new one, and hopefully an upgrade...here is the info on my boat/prop:

Alpha 2 1.65 ratio
14 x 20p
Mercruiser 5.0L new last summer
2005 Larson Senza
Current speed with 4 adults was about 42mph maxed out before shredded prop

I upgraded to the 5.0L last summer and didn't really see much increase in speed/performance which was dissapointing. I already had some nicks and wear on my prop but maybe thats where I was missing out?? Anyway, looking to upgrade and get a higher max speed and better wake...about 50% pulling wakeboard/tube and 50% cruising time. If you need more info for a good suggestion let me know as I am completely new to replacing a prop..
Thanks

steelespike

Supreme Mariner
Re: Help with a new prop for Mercruiser 5.0

Unfortunately speed without rpm isn't much help.Is the speed by gps? Your boats dry weight is about 3,000 lbs. What
is the hp of the 5.0.Is it new?What is your feeling of the overall performance with the 20" prop?
What did you up grade from and what was the performance before? How much is "not much difference" with the 5.0?
A prop aimed at max speed may be more difficult to maintain on the edge of wakeboard speed.

khall

Recruit

Thanks, WOT rpm was running around 4800 with approx 750# of people and gear. The old engine was a 4.3L 190 hp, the current 5.0L is 220hp and yes, it was brand new middle of last summer. Honestly between the 4.3 and 5.0 I couldn't really tell any difference at all in the performance of boat...top speed, ease of plane, etc.

I am more interested in a prop that will plane faster and hold it better for boarding than one for top speed

Slip Away

Lieutenant

Being a 14 x 20, I assume you have a 4 blade prop ?

SkiDad

Lieutenant Commander