Removable Decks for Canoe

Status
Not open for further replies.

kempshark

Cadet
I'm thinking of making removable casting/poling decks for the bow/stern of a squareback canoe. I have a couple of questions.<br /><br /> First, what would you use for the structural material, 1/2" plywood, or some other composite material?<br /><br /> Secondly, I was thinking of glassing in (its a fiberglass canoe) support rails for these platforms. What would you guys use for these rails? I figure doing it this way would enable me to take off the decks and leave them at home when I don't need them. They will need to be able to support at least 250-350 lbs. I have a fishing buddy that is around 240lbs. I plan on using the deck in the stern for pushpoling and the deck in the front for casting. They would sit around 2" below the height of the gunnels. <br /><br /> I'm totally new to the world of fiberglass. I just figured I could do it myself a little cheaper, make it just how I want it, learn some new skills, and have some mods to be proud of later. Thanks for any help or advice.

tmcalavy

Rear Admiral
Re: Removable Decks for Canoe

Can both of you swim? I can't see you doing anything on a casting deck in a round-bottomed canoe but going overboard...fast. They're just not built for it. Now a pirogue on the other hand...

kempshark

Cadet