Buying my first boat. I will have to restore it.

Jlog

Recruit
Tomorrow I'm going to look at a 15' deep v fiberglass boat. I cant make out the name on the side something like Gi--fion. It doesn't look to bad, but the previous owner tore the seats and floor out. He told me it has a small hole in the hull. It looks like some kind of fish and ski, but I'll be turning it into just a fishing boat. I know nothing at all about boats. I have wired houses before and I am a commercial carpenter. So I'm pretty sure I have some of what it takes to get the job done right. I've been reading some of the post about restoring a boat. I know to check the transom pretty good. From youtube I've seen it's not hard to patch fiberglass. Is there anything major I should look for tomorrow?

mwe-maxxowner

Master Chief Petty Officer
Re: Buying my first boat. I will have to restore it.

If the floor has been torn out, sounds like it may be in need of a full on stringer, deck, and transom restoration. This involves a lot of work and quite a bit of money, and all the fiberglass work is tough. Read a few restoration threads on here to see what you may be getting into to make sure you're up against. If the deck is removed I guess that will make inspection of the stringers and foam easy enough. Flotation foam holds in moisture if it ever gets in there, and it seeps into the stringers and bulkheads and begins them rotting. The best way to test for rot is to drill test holes in the stringers and transom, though I'm not sure if a seller would allow that.

I sort of detest fiberglassing new wood in. You begin to stick to everything, the rubber gloves rip as they stick to the roller, your feet stick to the hull, it gets on your skin and (I find it to be anyway) is difficult to get all of if you are hairy:eek:. It's worth it all though to have a boat you know is in great shape and is exactly what you want you may not be able to afford any other way.

Jlog

Recruit