how hard to change bellows and u-joint?

Countryboy1

Recruit
I am new to the boating scene I have a 72 sea ray srv 220 cuddy cabin with a mercruiser 5.0 I believe with a mercruiser 888 outdrive it has not been in water since 2003 well im assuming that since taged last was 03. I wanna change bellows and u-joint. and also the impellors. I replaced starter because it was bad. the trim will not go up or down its full of fluid and pump is good. please help I got the boat on trade for replaceing a guys bathroom floor

Don S

Honorary Moderator Emeritus
Re: how hard to change bellows and u-joint?

A 40+ year old boat, that hasn't run for 10+ years, and you took it in trade for a bathroom floor?????? :facepalm: :facepalm:

You have a lot of hard expensive work ahead of you.

Don S

Honorary Moderator Emeritus

Here is a link to the OEM service manual Click Here Make sure all the stringers and transom are solid before you even think about working on the engine and drive.

Ford was last used by Merc in 1977.

SWD

Petty Officer 1st Class

Wow.....I'd say he got a deal, you did'nt! Lots of work....if you want it.

Celtichawk

Chief Petty Officer