Brand new Evinrude Etec 150 first try wont go past 10 miles per hour Help?

Mirro-rude

Recruit
Hi all, and thanks for reading my post. I'm new to boating, I bought a 2013 Mirrocraft 1768 with a 2013 Evinrude Etec 150 hp. I was excited to put it in the water Saturday, pulled out of the dock nice and slow... as soon as I was in a safe area to give it some gas and get up and go a little, all that happened was around 10 miles per hour and that was it?? I called the dealer from the water and he talked about it may be in safe mode? I had a warning light for no oil ( I picked it up from dealer with oil in the tank and apparently primed. I also made sure to fill the oil. Just in case, I followed the winterizing instructions and fogged the motor twice, it ran great but full throttle still only gave max 10 miles per hour or less and 2200 RPM. Any ideas?

JSMoore

Petty Officer 2nd Class
Re: Brand new Evinrude Etec 150 first try wont go past 10 miles per hour Help?

Here's a quote from another boating forum about the E-TEC.

"When an E-TEC goes into SAFE mode, you do not have to go to the dealer to get out of it. The motor will resume normal operation if the problem is resolved and the motor is turned off and back on to reset. A warning light should come on if the motor is in SAFE to indicate the type of malfunction.

If a throttle is advanced when starting, or if linkage sticks or out of adjustment, the EMM sees the throttle position sensor with a wrong reading for start, so it will limit the rpm of the engine. This sounds more like your problem."

Perhaps that will help you!
Cheers,
JSMoore

Mirro-rude

Recruit

Hey thanks JSMoore, I'll try that and see how it works out.

I did bring it to the dealer and they will do diagnostics on it. I suppose they should be able to find out if there is something not quite right.

thanks again,
Mirro-rude

Mirro-rude

Recruit