How has your experience been with VOIP?

PiratePast40

Lieutenant Commander
I've been using Ring Central for my fax line for a few months and have experienced a few problems. I noticed today that there was no connection so started to do some troubleshooting. I could get into the softphone softward but no live info. Finally called customer support and we had to change the port and reset the internet access settings for that particular site.

I'm contemplating changing my business voice line to VOIP as well but a little leery after my recent experience with VOIP as my fax line. Faxes are becoming rare so the occasional hiccup isn't too disruptive. but having those outages with a voice line is unacceptable.

Anyone else have any experiences or problems to share before I take the leap?

rbh

Fleet Admiral
Re: How has your experience been with VOIP?

A phones a phone and a computer is a computer, well it used to be and for the most part should stay that way unless you have a huge pipe (internet connection) coming into your home or business.
Dropped calls, jitter and echo seem to be the big issue with voip, maybe do to the fact of to small a pipe, router is not very good when it comes to voip capability, or could be the wireing is rough (high resistance)

If it where me, I would stay traditional, but shop it.

It seems the people that benefit from it the most are big companys that do huge amounts of voice traffic between sites as well as when their people move intercompany and can take their number with them.

britisher

Petty Officer 1st Class

I have used Vonage for several years now and never experienced any hiccups on service. When we had a printer with fax capability, it worked fine even as a dual function line. After the printer/fax died, we gave up on faxes altogether. Just scan and email everything. I find very, very few reason to fax anything these days.
Then there's Magic Jack and that's even more a story of low cost technology.

lamphega