Mercruiser 4.3 LX boat died while driving and won't start back up

Scrowley707

Cadet
Hi folks I am new to I/O but have mostly had wakeboard ski boats. So I just bought this 1996 18.2 Regal with a 4.3 LX alpha gen + outdrive. I took it out for the first time and it was running very smooth for an hour then I felt it loose power for a second. I slowed down and everything felt ok so I started to go again and when I got to 75% it just died and wouldn't start back up again. The coil tests good. I unplugged the tach. I bypassed the shift interrupter. I went through the 5 step ignition test that. I do dot get spark from the green white wire from the distributor when I put a spark gap tester between the coil and ground. Does this mean I need to change the ignition module? My ignition module is 807829-1. I took it off inspected it. It looks good put it back in and same result.

dingdongs

Chief Petty Officer
Re: Mercruiser 4.3 LX boat died while driving and won't start back up

sensor needs to be replaced if your dabbing the green/white wire to earth & not getting spark.Under the cap.
The module does the advancing.

achris

More fish than mountain goat

Do you have Thunderbolt IV or V?

Scrowley707

Cadet

I don't know how to tell if I have thunserbolt IV or V, I have attached an imge of the back of the distributor showing the ignition control module numbers, (I unplugged it to inspect the plug) IMG_5180.jpg I did notice that my sensor has been discontinued and replaced with a different part number and it looks a little bit diffrent so I ordered one of those suggested by "dingdongs" but according to the test I was running I thought if you did not get spark while running test from coil to spark gap test tool to ground and swiping the white/green wire to ground then the sensor was ok?

achris

That's a Thunderbolt V system, so you need to follow the TB-V troubleshooting chart. Which manual are you using?