Need help with 115ESL shifting!!!

StarBilly

Cadet
Hello everyone. I would like to start by saying, "This is the most informative, educational learning forum online". I have learned a "boat load" of information and now I need your help on an unfamiliar issue regarding shifting.

I have removed lower unit and being a newbie, I forgot to note the position of the shift rod connector. So after cleaning water pump housing and surrounding area, and replacing pump and installing lower unit, the shifting is now WAY off..

It will go into forward fairly easily with not much change since before I tampered with it. Now reverse is the issue. I had to bring remote practically to the end in reverse before she would engage and not without experiencing a severe grinding, clunking noise that sent shivers up my spine.

It was running and shifting like a dream last year and now her maiden voyage was a troubled one that has me very concerned..

Thank you, Billy

Joe Reeves

Supreme Mariner
Re: Need help with 115ESL shifting!!!

There's more to that engine's model number.... what is it so that we can look up the info you need.

If the number is damaged or whatever, and you're absolutely sure of the year, make and hp... what is it?

StarBilly

Cadet

There's more to that engine's model number.... what is it so that we can look up the info you need.

If the number is damaged or whatever, and you're absolutely sure of the year, make and hp... what is it?

Sorry joe. It's 115ESL74B. Making it a 1974 115hp electric start salt water model.
So I've been told.

Joe Reeves

Supreme Mariner

The 1974 model 115nhas no shift rod measurement. The rod has a threaded top whereas a barrel connector screws onto it. Simply screw the barrel all the way down, then back it up if needed so that the barrel faces in the proper direction.

If you have the shift cable out of adjustment, center it as follows.

(Centering Shift Cable)
(J. Reeves)