Engine die: Kill switch ?

Rutto

Seaman Apprentice
Hello,
After about 2 years I bought my boat, on Saturday I finally went to the lake for a test as I replace the engine.
All seems perfect at the beginning, I left the dock slowly and all works fine but when I increase the throttle the engine suddenly die. I tried to turn it on again and it starded fine, tired again to increase the throttle and it suddenly die again.
I back to the dock in idle with no problems.
If I increase the throttle with neutral gear it works fine. I left the engine running in neutral idle for about 20 mins with no problems.

Please note that the way it die is not slowly like out of fuel but suddenly.

Unfortunately because of another issue I had with the shift lever I started playing with it's adjustment moving it but the day after I realized that the kill switch could be the problem !

I back to my boat and I start playing with that adjustment and I found out that my theory could be true as I noticed that with a wrong adjustment the switch is pushed when in forward or backward.
Do you agree with me that kill switch could be a suspect ?

Given my English is not very good, is there someone capable to explain me step by step with easy words how to adjust the shift lever ?

Thank you in advance !
:joyous:

Re: Engine die: Kill switch ?

Can you tell us what engine, year and the model outdrive you have and we can help you figure this out.

The kill switch "cutoff switch" should only engage when shifting back into neutral and only in the water, not on the trailer. The fact that it is killing the engine means it is working correctly.

There is most likely another issue causing it to engage, either a bad lower shift cable or adjustment.
How old is the lower shift cable?

Here is an explanation on how it works:
http://forums.iboats.com/mercruiser...nterrupt-system-works-288089.html#post1930449

Don S

Honorary Moderator Emeritus