1965 5hp Evinrude Angler Over heating?

abreen89

Cadet
Hello,
I am new to outboards and to this forum. I recently purchased a short shaft 1965 5hp evinrude angler. I brought it home and started it up in a tank and she ran very good but got pretty warm after a while. I decided to replace the impeller and clean up the water pump aswell as inspect the lower unit gears. After i got my parts i replace the impeller some gaskets and cleaned it up really nice. I then put it all back together. I spun the drive shaft clockwise as i screwed down the water pump housing as instructed by manual. I put everything else back together and slid the drive shaft up the lower unit aligning the water hose and everything. I bolted her down to spec and filled the lower unit with oil. Now after about a 5 minute tank test idling and some short higher revs she started getting really warm and when i lifted the housing smoke or steam starting coming out so immediately turned her off. Questions: do the exhausts holes need to be completely submerged for it to keep cool? why am i overheating?

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

HighTrim

Supreme Mariner
Re: 1965 5hp Evinrude Angler Over heating?

Was it pumping water? Was the gearcase submerged down deep enough, about 2 inches below the exhaust relief where the exhaust and spent cooling water come out?

abreen89

Cadet

Was it pumping water? Was the gearcase submerged down deep enough, about 2 inches below the exhaust relief where the exhaust and spent cooling water come out?

How can you tell if its pumping water? It Does not have a "pee" Hole. The water was right up to to the bottom exhaust holes. there was water spraying out of the exhaust.

Thanks

F_R

Supreme Mariner

The exhaust holes spray is the "pee" indicator. If water is spraying out of them, at least you know the pump is working. But that doesn't mean it is cooling.