1975 Ranger 150a restoration, 1st boat project!

I just bought a 1975 Ranger 150a. It has an Evinrude 70 (2 stroke, 3 cylinder) hanging on a very rotten transom. The trailer is in decent shape, everything from the bilge pump to the trolling motor works. I think I made a decent buy at $600.

So far all I've been able to do is clean it up and test everything, pictures to follow. I'm new to all of this, but I am looking forward to the tasks at hand!

wolfsmurf

Petty Officer 2nd Class
Re: 1975 Ranger 150a restoration, 1st boat project!

That's the smallest ranger I've ever seen! Will be fun I'm thinking. Lots of knowledge on here to help when you get to the demo and rebuild stages. Don't be afraid to ask lots of questions, I do still.

I've bleached the seats, they are all pretty and white now... hoping to get the motor off and start on the transom this week. I have read some Seacast reviews and such on here, what is the cost to do a boat this size (roughly)? It seems like an easier fix with great results, but this is certainly a build on a tight budget!

Jason

That's the smallest ranger I've ever seen! Will be fun I'm thinking. Lots of knowledge on here to help when you get to the demo and rebuild stages. Don't be afraid to ask lots of questions, I do still.

It's a beast, isn't it? :) I'm thinking the 70 should move it along nicely... I plan on leaning on the forum often, thank you!

Slacker411

Petty Officer 2nd Class

Good luck with it. I'm interested to see how this goes. It looks like a lot of work but I agree it would be fun! Hopefully you can get that boat safe to without having to spend too much $$.

Slacker411

Petty Officer 2nd Class

Did you do a compression test on it or run it in the water?

Ran it in the water. It was on my cousins boat lift, I started it but used the trolling motor to get it to the ramp, didn't trust the transom even at idle.

Slacker411

Petty Officer 2nd Class