Wet Sanding, Best Technique?

wildman

Seaman Apprentice
I am looking to try and shine the Gelcoat up on my Tub and plan on trying to wet sand it.<br /><br />What is the best way to wet sand this and what grit? Can I damage the gelcoat by doing this?<br /><br />How exactly do you wet sand anyways? <br /><br />Thanks

phatmanmike

Captain
Re: Wet Sanding, Best Technique?

well chief, im no expert but i used a bucket of H2O, a 3m sanding block and i started with 400 grit 3m wet sand paper and a sponge and would wipe a small area that i wanted to do, about a foot at a time, and then dip the whole sanding block in the bucket and then sand in a cirlce motion for a few secs about 10 secs or 15 secs and then do it again....... <br /><br />then do the same with 600 grit<br /><br />ive even heeard of dudes doing this with 1200 after the 600<br /><br />its up to you..<br /><br />just try a small spot and test it and finger it out<br /><br />mikey

BMDODGE

Petty Officer 2nd Class

(.)(.) !! LOL :p <br /> ) ( (<br />( ^ )

LubeDude

Admiral

First off, just how bad is the finish to start with??

johnnybigrigger

Petty Officer 2nd Class

Too cool Dodge.....too cool LOL :D <br />I wanted to add...Harbor Freight Tools has their 7" variable speed buffer marked down to $29.99 For limited use it would be OK...not great...but OK. <br /><br />@-@<br />JBR

voxmorgan

Petty Officer 3rd Class