New to I/O, please advise

4runneradam

Petty Officer 1st Class
I recently got a 1984 Chris Craft Scorpion 210. Has a Mercruiser 228. Traded it for my last boat, a 85 Bayliner 85hp outboard. Never owned anything but the force outboard, so I'm new to I/O's.

Background on the boat, as I was told by the seller, that an old man owned it, it was a coast guard boat, serviced regularly by the coast guard, winterized in 2005, man fell ill and was unable to use it since then, has been sitting in a barn since then. Was also told deck, seats, and a jasper engine was put in back in 2000.

So, fast forward to today. Oil looks perfectly clean and golden brown color, no moisture on dipstick. Oil filter looks brand new. So I left it in there. I changed the fuel filter. Hooked it up to a fresh can of gas, and fired it up. Found out one of the freeze plugs behind the motor mount must have blown out because it was missing. Replaced that, put muffs on it, and fired it up. Seems to run good for sitting for 8 years. But, there is a tapping noise coming from the starboard side of the engine. Hoping its just a valve tapping, maybe needs adjustment? Not sure how it could get out of adjustment that far. Also, on that same side, the riser I guess its called, sits on top of the exhaust manifold where the water hose comes in, is cold, for the first few minutes, while the other side is much hotter, right away. The body of the manifolds on both sides were the same temp, just the tank part on top was cold on starboard. I let it run for 10-15 minutes, and the starboard side did get much warmer, while the port side was nice and hot (not too hot to the touch). There were also a few small drips at various drain plugs where I need to re-seal with pipe dope.