1988 Lund Pro V 1700 interior rebuild

lund prov

Cadet
I am new to iboats and this is my first post. I have already learned a lot from all the knowledge shared on here. I am about to start replacing the wood and carpet in my 1988 Lund Pro V 1700. I am ordering carpet samples today and I have the hardware picked out for latches, but I had a few questions regarding the reconstruction.

I was planning to carpet the plywood and then reinstall with rivets, but the floor is wider than 1 sheet of plywood, so how do I join plywood and maintain strength? Also, My side compartments are covered with a vinyl fabric, what do I need to replace this stuff with something that is durable? Is it naugahyde? I am unsure of using the same compartment hardware (door stops/catches), is there something better than the original?

I am sure I will have more questions as I go, I have only just started. I see there is a forum for a Pro V 1700 dlx restoration, so if thiker15 is still around, I would appreciate any advice/tips you could offer. Thanks in advance.

Georgesalmon

Lieutenant Commander
Re: 1988 Lund Pro V 1700 interior rebuild

To splice the plywood cut a strip about 4" wide and center it under the seam. Then countersink holes on both sides of the seam and glue and screw the plywood floor to the underneath backer strip on both sides. I like gorilla glue for this. You want marine vinyl, you can buy it right on iboats in lotsa colors. Glue it down with contact cement like weldwood brand. Is ther something better than the original? Probably, again look on iboats, lots of choices depending on your wallet size.

jigngrub

Fleet Admiral

Pictures, pictures, pictures! Pictures will help us help you better.

Replace your decking as it was installed by the manufacturer, if you're unsure how this was done... again, we need pictures.

Be sure to check your foam for waterlogging/saturation and your transom for rot.

lund prov

Cadet

I will try to get some photos posted this evening. Thanks.