'83 Evinrude 60HP 2 cylinder decarb

fender230

Cadet
Hey folks,

I am new to boating and outboard mechanics. Last weekend I decarbed my old for the first time. It was running rough late last season and would stall during acceleration unless I jammed the throttle forward and backed off. It started after I began trolling regularly, so it seemed like my issue was carbon build up.

I ended up going with the valvtect spray from west marine. I noticed that when I was spraying into the bottom carb, the motor would cough and start to stall, but when I sprayed into the top carb, the motor had no reaction whatsoever. I looked around and could not find anyone saying this was normal. Basically, I want to know if this is a sign that the carbs need to be rebuilt or maybe I should run seafoam through it instead. The motor smoked like crazy and it idles better now, but I have not had it out in the harbor yet. Any input would be great.

Matt

Flipv1983

Cadet
Re: '83 Evinrude 60HP 2 cylinder decarb