Need help picking aluminum boat, please help?

adster19

Recruit
Hello everyone,

Name is Adam, grew up in Northern Ontario, and always operated a 22 ft Nor-West freighter canoe.. I'm no beginner to boating, but i am a beginner to aluminum boats. Where i am, there are only 3 boat dealerships, and i'll list my options i've narrowed the selection down to. I've settled for a 16 ft, with a 20hp 4-Stroke Merc.. The boats are as follows;

-Legend 16ft Widebody
-Lund WC16
-Princecraft Springbok 20
-if the option is there a Crestliner 1650 sportsman

I'm not looking to start a war with who's choice is better, i'd just like everybody's personal opinion on if they've owned them, or had friends who've had them, etc. Hope to hear from everybody, thank you

richardgreen

Seaman
Re: Need help picking aluminum boat, please help?

After owning a couple utility type rigs like this in the past, a few must have features I personally would insist upon...
- splash tray across the back
- long shaft setup
Just my opinions, especially if buying new...

RG

saumon

Lieutenant

As for build quality, Legend is the bottom line, with Princecraft in the middle and both Crestliner and Lund above. Can't say if there's a difference for the bare hulls like the ones you're looking for but with 17-18 ft. side consoles fishing boats, Crestliner were renowned for their quality of fit & finish while Lund were known as being bullet-proof.

For the kind of boat you mentionned, I'd take the Lund.

ezmobee

Supreme Mariner

Lund's also have particularly good resale.

WIMUSKY

Staff member

Here's a comparison for 3 of your choices.
Crestliner 1650 Sportsman | Aluminum Utility Boats for Fishing, Hunting and Work | Deep V Boat

Crestliner has the highest over-all capacity, judging by the max hp and amount of people. Crestliner has a welded hull whereas Lunds are riveted. I would stick with either of those two. Giving the nod to Crestliner. But, I've been and will always be a Crestliner fan......