Basic Stereo Recommendations?

VAfan

Cadet
I’m the proud owner of a 1999 20ft Tracker pontoon in need of lot’s of stuff – including a stereo system. Looks like Polk Audio DB651 are decent lower cost speakers (after searching the forum) but having a hard time finding an obvious lower cost stereo recommendation.

Looking for a basic FM/CD stereo that has the potential to be exposed to lots of water (on the console), any suggestions?

KD4UPL

Senior Chief Petty Officer
Re: Basic Stereo Recommendations?

Check out Crutchfield. I've been buying electronics from them for 20 years and they are always excellent.

tractoman

Petty Officer 1st Class

I have a Sony marine head unit with iPod connection that works well for me. Also has removable face and remote.

rallyart

Lieutenant Junior Grade

You can put a waterproof cover over any car stereo faceplate for about $22
You want a connection for your phone or iPod.

MH Hawker

Vice Admiral

The hinge on that cover is very weak. Pyle makes a much better clam shell type

moosehead

Chief Petty Officer

+1 to buying marine grade components, Crutchfield, and direct wire Ipod connectors (or maybe even XM/Sirrius). CD's skip around more in a boat, and FM reception can be spotty depending on your waterways.

Check out marine decks by Alpine - their Ipod controllers are spectacular and overall the features and quality are well worth a bit of a premium. Same for Marine Speakers by Infinity and JL Audio. Consider getting a wireless controller for the cockpit, unless you are able to mount the headunit at the helm. Yea, some of these are a bit more spendy, but they are durable and efficient, and may save you from having to overpower with more amps and subwoofers (unless you want to blow everyone out of the water - not recommended).

You may also want to add a dual-battery setup if you intend to add amps and run the system for many hours while at anchor, beached, or in port.

Enjoy. Marine systems are a great mod.

Mischief Managed