Johnson QD15 extremely hard to pull start

Kpowell3

Cadet
Hey Guys,

I am having a heck of a time. First off I am brand new to working on boats, but I have a lot of experience(college) working on 4 stroke car motors and pretty good "mechanical sense" if that is a term. I recently moved to a lake and am restoring an old 14 foot aluminum boat to fish with. I came across a 1954 johnson qd-15 2-stroke outboard motor that has been sitting for, perhaps, 15-20 years and am going to use it, in conjunction with a trolling motor, on the fishing boat. The motor has good compression, new coils, points, condensers, plugs, impeller, rebuilt carb. When I initially took the lower unit off it had squirrel nests in it. Here is the issue, I put everything back together put the engine in a barrel of water hooked the tank up with fresh gas/oil, I went to pull and I gave it all I had and the motor is, what I would consider, abnormally hard to pull. So I took the lower unit off thinking the shaft was bound and, with the lower unit off, attempted to pull the motor over(with fuel line unhooked just incase). The motor is still entirely too hard for me to pull over (6'1" 240 26 years old who is in decent shape). So I started inspecting things I took the recoil off, with the lower unit still off, and turned the flywheel slowly, I could hear hissing every half turn or so and got some leaking (of penetrating oil that I sprayed into the cylinders I think) onto the ground. I took out the old spark plugs to replace them with some new ones and just for the heck of it tried turning the flywheel. With the spark plugs out the engine is, perhaps, 10x easier to turn over. My question is: What can I do to make this engine easier to pull over. Does it need a valve job? Does it have valves? Could exhaust/intake ports be clogged or laced with carbon? Has anyone experienced this before? I've been lingering around this website getting free info, but can't seem to figure this out.

Thanks,

Kpowell

HighTrim