West System and Varnish questions

JSGAuto

Cadet
Hi,<br />I am begining the reassembly of the Ula Kai (vintage hydroplane). I have heard that the West System is the best epoxies to work with. I have never worked with an epoxy before. I was looking over the manufatures website to purchase a bit of the resin and hardner to practice with on some cheap ply. I saw that the manufature offered a few publications about woring with the epoxies. "Wooden Boat Restoration & Repair" a book, and a video "WEST SYSTEM Epoxy Basic Application Techniques". Are these publications worth buying? <br />I was looking at the different harners that are offered I would like a slower curing epoxy so that I have time to work. The slow hardner, 206, cures in 20 minutes, and the extra slow, 209 cures in 40 minutes. Which hardner is the easiest to work with? <br />I am currently rebuilding the boat in an unheated garage (I live in Jersey) would the cold temperatures cause the epoxy to cure incorrectly? Should I just wait until spring?<br />Also, what is the best type and brand of varnish to use on the boat?<br />Finally, any tricks and tips with working with this stuff would be greatly appretiated!<br /><br />Thank you!!<br />Jim

CCrew

Chief Petty Officer
Re: West System and Varnish questions