1957 Johnson 35hp ignition problem

Medman911

Recruit
Hi, I just acquired a 1957 Johnson 35hp SeaHorse outboard and I am having trouble with the solenoid. It has a push button starter on the dash next to a push button choke/stop button. I can jump the 2 main lugs of the solenoid and get the starter to turn over, but when I push the start button on the dash, nothing happens. I'm kinda new to boating, so any help would be appreciated. Thank You.

HighTrim

Supreme Mariner
Re: 1957 Johnson 35hp ignition problem

Welcome to iboats.

The solenoid is always blamed, but usually not the issue.

To test it, remove it, then hook your ohmmeter leads to the 2 large posts, and connect your 12 volt battery across the 2 small posts. You should get an audible CLICK and get continuity across the large leads.

Now, all the connections need to be tight, and CLEAN. Take them all apart and take a file to them, polishing them, then retighten. This is at the battery, solenoid, starter, and grounds. Also, the wiring may be internally corroded or damaged.

There are other factors that could be in play here, as discussed in an earlier post. Your motor has a mercury switch, and will only allow the motor to start when it is in the START position, or perfectly horizontal. Does your motor have a tiller, or is it remote controlled? Play with the the throttle control, whether it be the tiller or remote, and get that mercury switch horizontal so that the solenoid is grounded and able to work properly. Temporarily running a test lead with alligator clips from it to a good ground will bypass it for testing purposes.

We will start with that. Test the solenoid. Ensure the battery is fully charged and load tested. Ensure all wiring is not rotted or damaged, and all connectors are shiny clean and tight.

JDusza

Ensign

Hey, Medman,welcome to the forum. Solid help and great alliances here.
If I get this right, you can hot-wire the starter solenoid at the starter and the starter spins. Check.