Spray Gun for Gel Coat

pyrotek

Petty Officer 2nd Class
I'm thinking about spraying a small gel coat repair. Since this is mostly an expirement to see how well it comes out, I want to get a relatively low cost gun. I was thinking of getting a $40 HVLP gun from Nortern Tool with a 2.3mm nozzle.

This might be a stupid question since I have no experience with spraying paint, but if this goes well I hope to re-gel a 2x3 ft patch in the cockpit floor. Can I use this gun to spray straight down on the deck floor?

My other question is regarding styrene. The gel is a slightly off white color. I am concerned it will yellow over time. Is it possible to shoot the gel out of a 2.3mm gun without thinning it?

gm280

Supreme Mariner
Re: Spray Gun for Gel Coat