gel coat pulled off best way to touch up

5string

Petty Officer 3rd Class
I had a bracket that was bolted to the deck and glued with 5200, I got the bracket off with knife, heat gun and wedges but had a couple small spots that it pulled off the white gel coat. I need to fill the 4 small screw holes and fix the areas where the white pulled off with the bracket. It is a textured non skid fiberglass deck on a Blue Wave and I have a photo of some of the area I'm cleaning off old glue and in the top you can see some of the blue under the white gel coat that needs fixed. It is about the size of a business card that needs white gel coat and I've never done any gel coat before but being on this non skid deck I can't see paying someone for an area that is not smooth or that will show much if it is a little off. Any advice on what to buy and fill the holes.

5string

Attachments

• IMAG0182.jpg
    IMAG0182.jpg
    148.1 KB · Views: 0

Bondo

Staff member
Re: gel coat pulled off best way to touch up

Ayuh,.... That Looks more like paint than gelcoat...

GWPSR

Senior Chief Petty Officer

Ayuh,.... That Looks more like paint than gelcoat...

... over stucco.

Can we get a shot from just a little further away? That looks like a mighty rough area.

5string

Petty Officer 3rd Class

I will get a better pic after work, it is a white, with blue swirls on the floor of the boat, it is rough texture non slip, the whole deck or floor of this Boat is this way, I just figured it was gel coat, it isn't shiny but very durable. It is a Blue Wave 180 Classic and in the pic there is still some 5200 that I have to get off.

Thanks, 5string

... over stucco.

Can we get a shot from just a little further away? That looks like a mighty rough area.

5string

Petty Officer 3rd Class

Here is a better pic of the area I want to fix, I just want to know best way to fill holes and touch up with white gel coat or epoxy where the outer layer pulled off.

Thanks 5string

Attachments

• IMAG0185.jpg