Absolute beginner!

millamoose

Cadet
Hi! I have been reading through these forums for several months but this is my first post. I am an avid fisherman but an absolute beginner with boats. I am however quite handy, mechanically inclined, and up for a challenge so I'm not scared to get my hands dirty. I recently decided to buy a boat as a rebuild/restoration project and I need some help getting started. I know that I have a Glastron Bowrider with a 165 Mercruiser I/O. However, I am having some difficulty figuring out the exact make, model, and age of both the boat and engine. I have the serial numbers but I am not finding a match on the internet. Can anyone help a gal out? :confused:

the beast in question
http://i.imgur.com/owybjQt.jpg

Serial on hull
http://i.imgur.com/vgeOrhc.jpg

Serial on upper unit of engine
http://i.imgur.com/FyXETDo.jpg

Serial on stern drive unit
http://i.imgur.com/RmdbTga.jpg

Bondo

Staff member
Re: Absolute beginner!

Ayuh,... Welcome Aboard,.... The hull number says it's a '77,....

I'd guess the rest of it is, Also...

millamoose

Cadet

Thank you! Definitely not what I had been told but that is to be expected on a "junker" I suppose :). That really helps.

Don S

Honorary Moderator Emeritus

Just checked the engine serial number, and it is a 77 model as well. No records of drive serial numbers in 77.

millamoose

Cadet

Thanks! What does you mean when you say that there is no record for the stern drive in '77? Does this mean that someone has replaced the stern drive but not the upper unit?

Don S

No, it just means there is no way to trace the year of the outdrive by serial number. It's still a MC-1 drive the serial number is needed for getting the proper internal parts of the drive. I do have ranges for the 78 model, and they start with 489XXXX which puts your at around 77.

Have you looked at the stickies at the top of the forum? You should.

millamoose

Cadet