Need advise- My boat sank! 1996 sea ray 175 w/ mercury 3.0 LX

Stan_Lee

Cadet
My boat sank in November at a local marina. The engine was fully submerged for approx. 24 hours. The marina fogged the engine and pulled the plugs. I picked up the boat last week, replaced the fluids and tried to start it and there is no power to the engine (not turning over). The trim will go down but not up, the trailer trim takes the outboard all the way up. There is no power to the radio, lights or any other electronics. What should my next steps be? Any advice would be appreciated.

BonairII

Commander
Re: Need advise- My boat sank! 1996 sea ray 175 w/ mercury 3.0 LX

You didnt try to get it running after you recovered it? I'm no expert, but I would guess that the oil should have been changed....and engine turned over to get any residual water out of it.

Presently, you are probably not getting power because of corrosion somewhere in the electrical system.

Stan_Lee

Cadet

I should have started the boat after the recovery (But I didn't). But since i didn't, Now what should I do, buy replacement parts, clean electronics, connections from corrosion, replace starter, distributor, replace all wires, alternator, wires? Trash the motor, it's a parer weight!!!! Please help. I love my boat and want desperately to know if the motor is shot or if I have any hope.....

tpenfield

Staff member

Did it sink in the salt or the fresh water?

Your first steps should be to resurrect the electrical system. My recommendation would be to start at the batteries and work your way outward to all of the electrical components. there are various circuit breakers along the way that could be either tripped or corroded.

Having the manual for engine and boat (if you have one for the boat) will be needed for reference along the way.

At this point the elapsed time from when it sunk is your enemy . . . lots of things may have happened, none of them good, sorry to say.

dubs283

Vice Admiral