Bad Primer Choke Solenoid?

hsdtech

Seaman
I have a 1983 70hp Johnson that I just bought and put on my boat. It would would run for a few seconds and die every time I started it. I went through fuel lines, fuel pump, and carbs.
The next time I cranked it I found that as soon as it would start to die I flipped the red primer switch to manual for a few seconds and then flipped it back to regular, it gave it enough gas to keep going. After doing this a couple of more times it stayed running in the regular setting.

When I push the key button in I can here the solenoid click. If it "clicks" does that mean the solenoid is all good, or can something else be wrong with it? I mean apparently it wasn't working correctly if I had to flip the switch to manual to get the motor to run until it was warmed up. UNLESS I didn't hold the key button in long enough???
I have no experience with these electronic primers, only electronic chokes.

Rick.

Captain
Re: Bad Primer Choke Solenoid?

It is not unusual to have to push the key more than once. Next time it starts to die push the key again and see if that helps. Normally if you here the click on pushing the key it means it is working. When mine engine is cold I normally have to push the key more than once and once it is warmed up not again that day. Best of luck. Rick.

emdsapmgr

Supreme Mariner