What to expect

Crownline230

Seaman Apprentice
Hi all!

I'm totally new to this forum and to boating as well. I love scuba diving and the ocean in general, so I finally took the dive in buying a boat last week. The catch is, by profession I am into car rebuilding and sales so I have access to auctions and bought this 2005 Crownline 230 bow rider that is reported to be flooded. I'm not sure how it was flooded, by rain or anyother way. It has the Volvo penta 5.7 engine and needs a bit more than tlc. I still haven't seen the boat in person, it was an online auction. So what kind of repairs should I be getting ready for. Should I be worried about the stringer, transom, or deck on this particular model? Should I expect engine, electrical damage? I got the boat for $4500 would you consider that a bargain or over the top. This is my first boat so I thought it will give me good experience in boating in general, as I will have to look into just about everything from boat designs, repairs and rebuilding. Probably move up from here. Thanks in advance for any advice, criticisms, suggestions!

10425704_1_I.jpg10425704_2_I.jpg10425704_3_I.jpg10425704_4_I.jpg10425704_9_I.jpg

roscoe

Supreme Mariner
Re: What to expect

Welcome aboard.

Expect everything could be damaged.

If it was flooded with or sat in saltwater, expect worse.

Stringers and transom, may be ok, depending on conditions during and after the flooding.

Advice, do a total assessment of the damage before you start any repairs or buy a trailer.

90stingray

Lieutenant Junior Grade

Could this be a result from the hurricane that was up in new york? Where are you located? Looks like a ok deal. But you paid more than anyone else decided they would...
If you like projects, then you will be happy here. Lots of areas to work on... engine, drive, hull, wiring, interior. You have more time than me friend. Goodluck with this one and keep us posted on your findings.

Solittle

Fleet Admiral