aluminum boat help needed

harry87

Recruit
photo (10).jpgphoto (11).jpgphoto (6).jpgHello all,

I have a aluminium boat in a bad way, I bought it last summer and have started to take the paint off to repaint, I have found bolts instead of rivets, holes and a white powdery substance causing the old paint to flake.

I am new to aluminium boats so am desperate for advise so if anyone can awnser the following questions it would be greatly apreciated.

1 should the bolts sit so proud on the hull?
2 what substance is best for filling holes in skids?
3 what paints are avalible that will seal and fill tiny cracks?
4 IS IT SALVAGEABLE !!!!!!!

many thanks

Harry

Last edited:

jigngrub

Fleet Admiral
re: aluminum boat help needed

What is your location Harry? A state in the USA or another country, I'm not familiar with Devon. This is kind of important so we can recommend the right products.

harry87

Recruit

What is your location Harry? A state in the USA or another country, I'm not familiar with Devon. This is kind of important so we can recommend the right products.

hello,

i am from devon in england

many thanks

harry

jigngrub

Fleet Admiral

I_5320

Seaman

A few questions

Is that the only area with screws?

Is the rest of the seam areas rivets?

Using in Fresh water, Salt or brackish

harry87

Recruit
Re: aluminum boat help needed

Thank you for the videos they were very helpfull most of the epoxy is avalible here but the paint will take some searching for.

The screws are all over the hull, below the water line but it's riveted above the water line.

All the seams are screws aswell!

I will be using her in salt water if I can ever get to finish her.

Would that paint mentiond above remain rubbery as during the paint stripping yesterday I was finding a rubbery undercoat on the seams and screws?

Many thanks,
Harry

jigngrub

Fleet Admiral