1969 Chrysler...need advice!

thelowbudget

Cadet
Hey guys this is my first time posting here, Here is my situation I recently purchased this boat for $250 bucks. I would like to restore it but I am scared to go any farther than I have already. So far i have ripped out the floor, stringers, and I have cut part of the back engine cowling away. To my dismay I have found alot of transom rot and this part scares me I dont know whether i will have the recourses to pull this engine out. I am 17 years old and therefore on a limited budget, I was excited to do the deck and stringers but the transom scares me. Also the volvo motor runs well and it even pumps water. It is a volvo aq120a and a volvo 200 outdrive it has only one issue to my knowledge and that is a cracked exhaust riser... this part is $140 online. I am comfortable with the wood and fiberglass work but pulling out a sterndrive is something that i am going to do alot more research on. I have recently cut new stringers and my total investment so far is about $400. Should i just try to sell it or should I go head first at this project? Please any advice or thoughts on this project would be great! I actually have all the floor and stringers ripped out but for some reason it wouldn't let me upload them sorry. Thanks again!

Attachments

• IMG_0466.jpg
    IMG_0466.jpg
    127.3 KB · Views: 0
  • IMG_0474.jpg
    IMG_0474.jpg
    15.5 KB · Views: 0
  • IMG_0476.jpg
    IMG_0476.jpg
    13.4 KB · Views: 0
  • IMG_0477.jpg
    IMG_0477.jpg
    16.3 KB · Views: 0
  • IMG_0478.jpg
    IMG_0478.jpg
    14.3 KB · Views: 0

matt167

Captain
Re: 1969 Chrysler...need advice!