6 HP "Sailmaster" lower unit question

WillemWallace

Seaman Apprentice
Hi Forum,
I have a "new to me" Johnson 6 HP "Sailmaster", model J6SLCOB, a 1985 20" shaft. Doing a waterpump service, as no history of maintenence came with motor. I have never done this before so I have a couple questions. I have removed the lower unit, and the 5" extension came off with it, as I assume it is supposed to. Now how is the extension secured to the gear case? The only bolts I can see are 2 small ones on the cavitation plate, just above the prop., right near the zinc anode. These bolts do not look like they are holding it on, but I see nothing else. Second question: The copper water tube that comes up out of the top of the impellar housing of water pump remained in the upper part of the motor, when I seperated the lower unit. From what I have read, it is supposed to remain attached to the water pump, when I dropped the lower unit. How do I deal with that? Any info is greatly appreciated!:eek:

domaotc

Seaman Apprentice
Re: 6 HP "Sailmaster" lower unit question

I am a novice also, but it just so happens that I tried to replace the waterpump on my Johnson 4.5 hp Sea Horse long shaft today (I say tried because the housing was cracked so I wasn't able to finish). From what I can see from the diagrams online your engine looks exactly like mine so I would say it is the 2 small bolts that you located because that was the setup on my engine. FYI, the directions that came with my OEM impeller kit showed those 2 small bolts (3/8in) holding the lower unit on.

This is the third impeller replacement I've done and the water tube always has stayed in the upper part of the motor (the other 2 I've changed are a 3.5hp Tohatsu and a 3.3hp Mercury).

I'm sure someone can explain it better, but it sounds like you are on the right track.

WillemWallace

Seaman Apprentice

Hi domaotc,