Milky Oil - 2006 Sea Ray - Merc 4.3L TKS

texaus007

Recruit
I decided to run my boat on muffs this weekend. I checked the oil before starting and it looked good. I ran the boat for 5-10 minutes at just above idle and shut it down. I checked the oil and my stomach sank, milky, mocha looking oil. I can't believe it. I had all 5 drain plugs out of the engine/cooling system over the winter. I will say that I did not run antifreeze through the cooling system before winter. We have fairly temperate winters here in Austin and I've never performed that step before. Anyhow, I'm assuming it's a cracked block. I will be attempting to rebuild it myself. I will need a lot of help from everyone here to make this happen. I have very little experience with boat engines/drives. I would rank my automotive repair skill level as intermediate. I've replaces brakes, rotors, wheel/axle bearings, radiators, steering components, interior mechanical components, minor transmission stuff, drive axle u-joints, rear differential fluid, various sensors, and of course normal maintenance stuff (oil, spark plugs, belts, etc...).

My first task is going to be to pull the sterndrive (alpha one). I've read a lot on this procedure and I think I've got it. But I'm open to any tips or tricks. Thanks!

Bondo

Staff member
Re: Milky Oil - 2006 Sea Ray - Merc 4.3L TKS