89 merc 100 hp drops 1 or more cylinders just before plane.

nohandsjoe

Recruit
Hey guys, this is the first time I have posted on here, but I need some help. The fish are starting to bite, and my boat is broke. 3 years ago I bought an 89 Mercury 100 hp that needed a rebuild. I have always worked on engines, so the rebuild was no big deal, however, I'm not very good with the electrical side of them. Last year, I broke a magnet in the flywheel. When it quit, the first thing I did was rebuild the fuel pump, because it kind of acted like a fuel issue. Before I found the broken magnet, I had rebuilt all four carbs and replaced the fuel pump. Then I saw the magnet was loose and broken. I replaced the flywheel and it ran great for about 3 trips to the river. Now I have a new problem. When I hit the throttle to jump up on plane, it jumps out of the hole great, but then I seem to lose at least one cylinder just before I hit plane, and that's all it has. I have tried pumping the bulb, and choking it as that was suggested to me by a boat mechanic in order to see if it was a fuel issue or not. Nothing changed when I did that. When I am running it on the hose at my house, it runs perfect, when I leave it on the trailer at the ramp and rev it, it runs perfect, when I take it out and the pump (it has a jet pump on it) gets a full load on it, that's when it poops out. Also my fish finder shows voltage on the screen, and I have noticed now that when I start the boat it shows about 13.5 vdc but when I bring the rpm's up, it will climb quickly to around 16 vdc and then the fish finder shuts off saying "high voltage". It has the original (I think) black stator in it, and I have been told by a couple different mechanics that these were notorious for failing. I am ready to start ordering parts, but I don't want to just throw money at it. Also, I'm worried that I may have more than one problem. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Man I need to go fishin'

CharlieB

Vice Admiral