Reconditioned Mercruiser Engines?

zaqzaq

Cadet
Hi all,

I'm new to the boating world and am looking at a old Sea Ray with various engine types. My question is when a Mercury engine gets old 800 hrs + what would you suggest. A new engine or is there such a thing as a fully reconditioned engine as in piston aircraft?
Can anybody shed any light on the topic and the costs, pros v's cons?
Many thanks.

Don S

Honorary Moderator Emeritus
Re: Reconditioned Mercury Engines?

Re: Reconditioned Mercury Engines?

800 hours isn't that much, they should make 2000 to 3000 hours with no problem. It just depends on what care and maintenance has been given to a particular engine.
Warm the engine and do a compression check and a leakdown test, then you will know what condition it's in.

RogersJetboat454

Commander
Re: Reconditioned Mercruiser Engines?

Is this engine with 800 hours still running? Has it been properly maintained? Does the compression test show good compression?

800 hours on an engine doesn't really mean a whole lot. If the owner was neglectful with routine service, an engine with far fewer hours could be toast. On the other hand, if the owner made sure that the engine was routinely serviced, 800 hours could be just a milestone with many more to come in the future.

Many routes can be taken with an engine that needs to be replaced. New, re-manufactured, or used engines are all options on the table. Many sources for those options as well.

Last edited by a moderator:

TilliamWe

Banned

My question is when a Mercury engine gets old 800 hrs + what would you suggest?
A new engine?
Or is there such a thing as a fully reconditioned engine as in piston aircraft?...

I would suggest as the others, if it's been maintained properly 800 hours doesn't mean an engine is worn out. My engine had great compression, oil pressure, and ran as fast at 800 hours (10 years old) as it did when it was brand new.
New Mercruiser engines are very expensive, hardly worth the prices.