14 Ft. Sears Aluminum Project

camwillett

Cadet
Bought an old beat up 14 ft. Sears Aluminum boat. The goal is to have it pretty well done in 4 weeks when my folks come to visit. My son and daughter are loving it, and have really enjoyed helping. So far. This is my first time taking on a boating project, so excuse me if some of these questions are silly, but I do have many questions and will likely have many more.

First, I Ripped everything out. All the wood was rotted. Both the wood used to support the pedestal seats and the entire transom. Everything had to go. Fresh start.

Then I panicked because the wood on both sides of the transom was actually riveted through the hull. I had to drill/cut out several rivits get it out. During that process I noticed several cracks and splits in the transom cap. My biggest concern though is the the handles on back of the boat were/are attached with rivets that went through the hull and out the interior side transom board. The end result has been a transom full of rivet sized holes and handles I am not sure how to repair. Anyway, the boat is stripped. My next move is to give it a bath in Aircraft Remover and then pressure wash it to get it down to aluminum. There must be a million coats of paint on it. Once I get that done, it's time to start putting her back together. My immediate questions are...

1. What kind of wood is the best option that won't cost an arm and a leg? I know pressure treated is bad, but marine is proving hard to find and very expensive.

2. Will JB Weld suffice to fix the cracks in the transom cap? I've used this on other projects in the past with great success.

3. What about all the rivet holes in the hull? Do I need to JB Weld those as well before I bolt the wood for the transom on?

4. What do you recommend for sealing the wood before attaching it to the hull?

5. Should I use some type of silicone sealant on the bolts and in the bolt holes I will use to mount the transom to the hull?