95 Johnson 50hp

mclothier3

Seaman Apprentice
I recently purchased what I think is a 1994 Sea Nymph Tx175 that has a 1995 Johnson 50hp (J50TLEOD)

sea-nymph_zpsb70f4f54.jpg

According to the previous owner and my own observations... the boat has been sitting outside, uncovered for the last 4 years. After looking at it and talking to him, I believe he just put gas and oil in it and ran it. I don't believe he did much in the way of maintenance.

I also don't believe he ever winterized it, the fuel line was still attached, and whats left in the tank has turned to varnish.

He explained to me that the last several times he had it on the water, the engine wasn't running right and would not come up on plane. He thought for sure is was a carb problem, and I pretty much agreed with him.

After I got it home, I popped the cover off and found this...

johnson_zps322a9ebd.jpg

Now, I'm not a outboard mechanic by any means, but i'm not afraid to turn a wrench or two, and I'm still waiting for my service manual to arrive, but wouldn't that linkage that is unhooked have anything to do with the spark advance? I'm thinking it is... and I think that would explain why he couldn't get the boat up to speed.

At any rate, I have been reading up, and there's a TON of good info here... My to-do list now includes:

Carb rebuilding kits
Fuel pump rebuild kit
New water pump
Replace lower unit lube
Lose the oil injection stuff
Compression check
Decarbing
Plugs
Flush the fuel tank
New fuel line and bulb

anything I missed?

One question I do have, Regarding the steering... it appears to be seized at the engine. Does anyone know if this is normal with the engine tilted in the up position? is there some kind of steering lock that engages if its tilted up? I will have to get some more pictures to explain, but everything appears to be free, except the part that is attached to the engine.