boat painting and deck

anthony95

Cadet
hello.
i have my 14ft jon boat to bare aluminum besides in some spots but i was wanting to know what all i need to get and do to paint it i am new to painting aluminum

and i am wanting to put a small deck in and floors and was wondering what the best way to seal the wood i am going to use thanks

Yacht Dr.

Vice Admiral
Re: boat painting and deck

hello.
i have my 14ft jon boat to bare aluminum besides in some spots but i was wanting to know what all i need to get and do to paint it i am new to painting aluminum

and i am wanting to put a small deck in and floors and was wondering what the best way to seal the wood i am going to use thanks

Epoxy coat your wood would be the best bet. Edges of the wood double/triple coat :) ..

YD.

jigngrub

Fleet Admiral

It's worth ordering and paying the shipping charges for epoxy resin if you have a lot of wood to seal, but for the little bit of wood that's going in that 14' tinny it's not really worth it.

You can get 1 gallon of exterior grade Spar urethane for $30.

http://www.homedepot.com/webapp/wcs...ping-_-googleads-_-pla-_-203003562&ci_gpa=pla

A half gallon of epoxy resin is $40 and by the time you order the pumpd and pay the shipping it's about $60 for that 1/2 gallon of epoxy.

Yacht Dr.

Vice Admiral

was wondering what the best way to seal the wood i am going to use thanks

2 part epoxy would be the BEST way to seal the wood .. not the low cost way .. not the conveniant way .. just the best way.

Also .. are you planning on sealing and painting . .. or just sealing ?

Are you going to skid the decking in .. or are you going to leave it.

Varnish is not really the way to go unless its hard wood for a final finish IMHO ..

YD.

jigngrub

Fleet Admiral

Another thing A95, what kind of plywood do you have in mind using on your deck and floors? If you're undecided I'll give you a couple tips.