1999 Force 120 Alternator Output

boldshue

Recruit
I have a 1999 Stingray with a 1999 Force 120 outboard on it. The engine runs great but the only documentation I can find on it is a very generic shop manual that covers all Force outboards.
I am relatively new to boating and want to put a fixed spot or some other type of light on the front of the boat because we have to run the river at night occasionally. I need to know the capacity of the alternator in order to determine what type of light I can safely install with only the one battery system.
I am wondering if I have to make a 20-30 minute run at night what would be the largest amp draw I could get by with and still be able to crank the boat in the morning? I have no other accessories on the boat that would add to the draw.
Thanks in advance!!

roscoe

Supreme Mariner
Re: 1999 Force 120 Alternator Output

Welcome to iboats boldshue.

You should have 16 amp output on that motor.

What type of lights are you looking at?

boldshue

Recruit

Thanks! I'm not sure, something permanently mounted below the gunnel. I've seen some nice led spots that are completely submersible but wasn't sure if they draw too many amps. I think they were pulling 9 amps.
Thanks Again!

jerryjerry05

Supreme Mariner

Top of this page, boat parts and accessories, electrical, then look for lights.
Found right here on i-boats.
Here's a set of lights.12v and not too much draw. The battery/alternator system should be able to power something like this.
You should really get a second battery hooked up. You never know when you might need a backup??

pnwboat

Rear Admiral

Most of the LED Marine spotlights draw very little compared to regular incandescent lights. A couple of amps per spotlight at the most. Regardless, having two batteries with a battery switch is always a plus.