Boat restoration 1971 winner minikai

Minikai71

Seaman Apprentice
Hello everyone. I've been lurking and used info I learned from this site to purchase my boat and get me this far and hopefully all the way to a successful restore! I have no experience with boat restoration - but am happy to learn and enjoy renovations in general as I have built and restored many houses.
I live Hamilton Ontario,Canada - 5 minutes from a boat launch to Lake Ontario!
I got the boat, trailer and 65 hp merc for a song- bought it on boxing day- best late christmas present ever!
As soon as I got it I put it in my shop, the trailer didnt fit so strapped and lifted it up, pulled out trailer and put it on big chunks of foam.

- then i cut off back (risky- maybe not the best idea)instead of popping top off
-removed rotten transom
-removed all electrical, steering
-cut/drilled sections of floor out to remove palstic bottles (approx 25% were filled or partially filled with water)
-removed some rot from floor
-vacumed cavities and everything and put in space heaters directly shooting into holes on low heat, brought uninsulated shop up to 10 c / 50 F

so now plan is to:

-dry it out completely- could take weeks right? its already a lot lighter after removing approx 4 gallons of water in plastic floaters
-rebuild transom, and finish back floor 2 or 3 layers of marine grade ply- epoxied together and glassed
-clean cavities with 202, reapair stringers, brush in a little epoxy (good idea?)

-pour in 2 part foam - 2 or 4 or 6 lb? i've read 2lb closed cell will absorb water if allowed to and water vapour- possible decreasing its life span, 4lb is much much better in terms of absorbing water, more rigid- but more $$- is it worth it? (thinking I need 4 gallons?) at 80 degrees

-let it cure, repair holes- put coat epoxy(with west system- good choice?) on and re-glass pretty much complete inside- adding strength to bare side walls- good idea?