Can I use an RV Fridge on a boat?

auntsooey

Recruit
I'm a total newbie to boating; longtimer to RVing. Could a 3-way refrigeraton (12V/110/Propane) work on a boat if it were vented to the outside like on an RV?

smokeonthewater

Fleet Admiral
Re: Can I use an RV Fridge on a boat?

It would be just fine AS LONG AS YOU DON'T USE THE LP portion... Just use the 110v and 12v stuff and you are golden

Of course the type of hull makes a difference... the LP is very dangerous with a hull to collect in but on a pontoon it is FAR less of an issue

Alwhite00

Master Chief Petty Officer

My last boat i had a dorm fridge and it worked & fit great but only worked on shore power.

LK

stevecur

Petty Officer 3rd Class

Most RV units need to be level or the gas or refridgerant does not flow right. I would think that would be a problem on a boat.

smokeonthewater

Fleet Admiral

they need to be fairly level but as long as it's mounted so that it is close it will be fine... My frige in the 5th wheel works fine at 75 mph around curves and over mountains

Texasmark

Supreme Mariner

Well, not to be a party pooper but heat is conducted from the inside to the outside via refrigerant that is moved by a compressor through the refrigeration cycle (compression-heat rejection, decompression-heat absorption)which has an oil supply to consider. Most systems do ok as long as the unit is vertical more or less. Turning it on it's side could cause problems, like when you move one on it's side you need to give it half an hour for the oil to return to the compressor before you fire it up. Sloshing around in a boat is an averaging operation and what came out will go back on the next wave so it is a moot point in my opinion. Have a diploma from a Master's ac, heating, and ref. course so I know a tad about the process, but no marine experience, but common sense has it's place.