Changed Outdrive oil added Prolong

palace

Petty Officer 2nd Class
Here we go guys, last year replaced outdrive oil with Mobil 1 full Syn. 75-90. Let her drain all night, oil was black as night and smells and very light fuzzy hair filings on drain plug. This morning pumped her slowly (in the middle fill plug) with QuickSilver Premium gear lube, walmart Syn-blend and add Pro-Long gear oil additive. I am a big Pro Long fan. Added it to last years (engine) oil change and checked oil the other day is dark to medium brown. I think I will have less clunck going into gear with the Prolong and less gear dust/filings. Planing on going out this Sunday for a test.

Bondo

Staff member
Re: Changed Outdrive oil added Prolong

Ayuh,.... Good luck with it,... I run Mobil 1, in All of mine....

Lou C

Supreme Mariner

All you really need, is the Merc Hi Performance gear oil...what makes it not clunk, is getting the idle as low as you can and still have it smooth...and making sure the ESA and shift linkage work....

palace

Petty Officer 2nd Class

Thanks Lou, I have my shift linkage set with OMC tools per service manual and I know my ESA works because when I have idle set to low I stall. Lowest I can idle is around 700- 800 RPM's. I can idle around 600 (per specs) but put her in gear (in the water) ...straight out.
All you really need, is the Merc Hi Performance gear oil...what makes it not clunk, is getting the idle as low as you can and still have it smooth...and making sure the ESA and shift linkage work....

bruceb58

Supreme Mariner

You do realize that the ESA is only used for coming out of gear right?

palace

Petty Officer 2nd Class