question on propane heat and epoxy

Streetgang

Petty Officer 1st Class
I am doing a resto on an alum boat and during these cold months want to epoxy coat the new wood decking and transom. I have no experience with epoxy but have lurked thru enough threads to know temp of room, the wood and the epoxy are important.

Somewhere I thought saw a reference to not doing this with certain types of room heaters. I have a propane radiant heater, the type that clamps on top of 20 lb bottle. Will be using it in a large 3 door garage.

Will this have any effect on the epoxy ? Specifically will the combustion exhaust hinder epoxy to do its job ?

I will also be using 2 halogen work lamps to keep work area warm.

Thank you.

jigngrub

Fleet Admiral
Re: question on propane heat and epoxy

I don't think the combustion exhaust will hinder your epoxy setting or curing.

I do strongly suggest you use the USComposites 635 Fast cure with the 4:1 hardener when working in cooler temps:

Epoxy :*Epoxy Resins and Hardeners

Be sure to order the pumps with the resin for quick and easy measuring.

tinkerguy70

Petty Officer 2nd Class

I'd be more concerned about the epoxy fumes being flammable more than anything else.
Just something to consider.

jigngrub

Fleet Admiral

I'd be more concerned about the epoxy fumes being flammable more than anything else.

Epoxy resin fumes aren't flammable, polyester resin fumes however are extremely flammable.

Bondo

Staff member

Ayuh,.... Relatively speakin', epoxy is considerably less flammable than polyester resins...
Any resins, 'n thinners will burn, just some more handily than others,...
I think epoxy is the safest in than regard...

I'd be more concerned about the also relatively localized heating factor of the heaters bein' used,...

It'll work, but localized temps need to be monitored,...

frantically relaxing

Senior Chief Petty Officer