1999 Sea Ray Sundancer 310 V Drive propshaft seals

homelite

Petty Officer 2nd Class
I just bought the above. It has 300 hrs on it. I never had an inboard. I am a certified auto technician so I just need pointed in the right direction.

First of all, there is a raw water 3/8" hose feeding the seals. I assume to cool them. Questions are:

How to get in there? I'm mid size. 5'8" 180lbs. I assume....remove both inside exhaust manifolds so i can get down under the engines??? Even that will be very tight!

Then comes how to do the job so because once I'm done it won't be easy to check to see if it's fixed.

How much water is normal? If any?

How tight should it be?

Thanks and I look forward to any help!

Don S

Honorary Moderator Emeritus
Re: 1999 Sea Ray Sundancer 310 V Drive propshaft seals

Need an engine and transmission Mercruiser serial number, type of boat is meaningless.

How to get in there? I'm mid size. 5'8" 180lbs. I assume....remove both inside exhaust manifolds so i can get down under the engines??? Even that will be very tight!
You take things apart until you can do the job, welcome to boat repair 101, it's NEVER easy.

Then comes how to do the job so because once I'm done it won't be easy to check to see if it's fixed.
How much water is normal? If any?
How tight should it be?
Un-answerable without know what engine and transmission you have

EDIT:
I may have misunderstood, are you talking about the seal on the transmission, or the packing gland?
If the packing gland, then forget the serial numbers.
Post a picture of the type packing gland you have.

homelite

Petty Officer 2nd Class