Removing a 351B engine to repair a rod knock: Coral Restoration Foundation

NetDoc

Chief Petty Officer
Today I got a call from the CRF, Coral Restoration Foundation, to come and listen to their boat. They have been told that their engine is "blown" and Ken wanted me to come down and give a listen. I first checked the oil level and we had to add a couple of quarts. However, once started, the knock was obvious and there can be no doubt that a rod bearing has gone AWOL on the starboard engine.

While I have 30+ years experience in the automotive field, I have only worked on a half dozen boats and have only pulled the engine out of one. It's a Volvo Penta transmission with a 351B (Ford???) engine. The boat was built in 94 or 96 and was recently given to them. The engines are mounted amidships and they don't look that intimidating. However, I would still like a manual on them and any pointers about what to look for as I pull the engine and go through it. I know enough to only use marine parts, to change the oil and water pumps and to keep things CLEAN. What don't I know that will bite me in the butt here? Your wisdom would be appreciated. Thanks in advance!

Don S

Honorary Moderator Emeritus
Re: Removing a 351B engine to repair a rod knock: Coral Restoration Foundation

Can you get the Volvo serial numbers, or full model numbers off the engines? I have links to some manuals, just not sure which ones you need.

PS: Sent you a PM as well.

NetDoc

Chief Petty Officer

In case you aren't sure where to look for the numbers, go here How to identify your engine or drive
The tags are obvious Don. They are right on the air filters. I just couldn't read them. I'll head out there tonight or tomorrow with a magnifying glass and see if that will make it possible.

NetDoc

Chief Petty Officer

In case you aren't sure where to look for the numbers, go here How to identify your engine or drive