Please advise seam leaking air

Geddie

Recruit
Hello folks,

I have got an old dinghy which is slightly leaking air at the seam.

P1130547.jpg

I am not willing to redo the seam itself as looks risky; another idea is to put a larger piece of material on top ? but would it hold? Also, what glue would you suggest for such operation?
Many thanks.

Drowned Rat

Captain
Re: Please advise seam leaking air

You can try putting a patch over the whole thing, but it will most likely not work. The leak will just travel along the seam to the path of least resistance. Your best bet, if you don't want to repair the seam, is to try an internal sealant.

Geddie

Recruit

Your best bet, if you don't want to repair the seam, is to try an internal sealant.

Thanks. Sorry, I am new to inflatable repairs... :)
How that internal thing works? I am quite good in fixing things just need to know what and how to use. If I could have at least idea what to look for...

Sea Rider

Supreme Mariner

If those are tiny winny air leaks, just place a small cracy glue drop to cover leak adjacet to seams, let dry and voila. There are some detractors about using this method, no harm to fabric, seals instantly well and removable if going for complete future seal work . We use it all the time for minor repairs at field & workshop.

Happy Boating

Geddie

Recruit

If those are tiny winny air leaks, just place a small cracy glue drop to cover leak adjacet to seams, let dry and voila. There are some detractors about using this method, no harm to fabric, seals instantly well and removable if going for complete future seal work . We use it all the time for minor repairs at field & workshop.

Happy Boating

What glue do you use for such work?

lncoop

Vice Admiral

Yikes. You're gonna have to repair the seam. It's a big job, but it can be done. Also looks like you're leaking around the rub strake. How old is the boat?

Sea Rider

Supreme Mariner

What glue do you use for such work?