Volvo Penta Engine Block Replacement

dabbenante

Cadet
2001 Larson with 5.0GL PEFS and SX-M 1.6 outdrive. Hull filled up with water during Hurricane Isaac and engine sat in water for 45 days (water level was right above water pump). Insurance has suggested the block be replaced and offered me approx $6k to get the same performed. 1.) Should I replace the entire engine or just the block? 2.) Can or should I go with a different (more powerful) re-manufactured engine? 3.) Is it a bad idea to try and "fix" this boat and instead go back to the insurer and argue that the boat should be considered totaled? (would require insurance to cough up another $1,500) which they will need to cough up some anyways as they missed all electronic items that were impacted by the water.

Eager to hear any thoughts and comments from those that have been through something similar. I have limited knowledge/experience on engine repair, although I enjoy performing repairs I have limited time to do the work and do not have adequate tools. I would look to a marine shop to perform this work if it is worth doing the repairs.

Thanks.

Don S

Honorary Moderator Emeritus
Re: Volvo Penta Engine Block Replacement

45 days full of water??????? The boat is junk. Not just the engine, all the wiring, anything electrical that was under water. Everything wood underwater is now beginning to rot.

dabbenante

Cadet

Don, I did not adequately describe the water intrusion. The boat was and remains on a covered lift and the boat never "sunk." It is assumed that the water was blown in to the engine compartment via exhaust (not certain). The boat was six feet above water when storm started and was eventually floating at the height of storm. Winds were blowing against the rear for about 40 hours and perhaps the water was blown in or seeped in some how.